caribbean-sea-01The Caribbean is a region consisting of the Caribbean Sea, its islands (most of which are enclosed by the sea), and the surrounding coasts. The region is located southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and North America, east of Central America, and to the north of South America.

Situated largely on the Caribbean Plate, the region comprises more than 7,000 islands, islets, reefs, and cays. These islands generally form island arcs that delineate the eastern and northern edges of the Caribbean Sea. The Caribbean islands are part of the somewhat larger West Indies grouping, which consists of the Greater Antilles on the north, the Lesser Antilles on the south and east (including the Leeward Antilles), the Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos Islands (the Lucayan Archipelago, which does not border the Caribbean Sea), as well as countries such as Belize in Central America and Guyana in South America which are historically and culturally part of the British West Indies.

Geo-politically, the Caribbean islands are usually regarded as a sub-region of North America and are organized into 30 territories including sovereign states, overseas departments, and dependencies.

The Caribbean and Central America

anguilla antiguaandbarbuda aruba bahamas
barbados belize bonaire britishvirginislands
caymanislands costarica cuba curacao
dominica dominican-republic elsalvador grenada
guadeloupe guatemala haiti honduras
jamaica martinique montserrat nicaragua
panama puertorico saba stbarts
steustatius stkitts stlucia stmaarten
stmartin stvincent-and-the-grenadines trinidad-and-tobago turks-and-caicos-islands

North America

bermuda canada greenland mexico

South America

argentina bolivia brasil chile
colombia ecuador falkland frenchguyane
guyana paraguay peru suriname
uruguay venezuela